Although archaeological discoveries suggest that settlements in and around Rome date back to 1000 BC,  historians have agreed that Rome was founded on one of the 7 hills in 753 BC.

For centuries, the term "Seven Hills"  was used  to describe the Capitoline, Quirinal, Viminal, Esquiline, Caelian, Aventine, and Palatine hills surrounding the ancient community. 

Monte Capitoline (Capitoline Hill) was long the seat of Rome's government, and the Palatine Hill was the site of such great structures as the Palace of the Flavians, built by emperor Domitian. 

In modern days, however, most of the hills are not distinguishable from the adjacent plain. Other hills of Rome include the Pincian (Pincio) and the Janiculum.

Back to Italy Home Page
Go to a summary of Italy's Chronology
Back to the Arcaini Home Page
e-mail Questions and Suggestions