Le Cinque Terre

Cinque Terre is the most southern part of the Ligurian Coast.  The name "Cinque Terre" originally stems from the 5 (in Italian 5 is "cinque") villages Riomaggiore, Manarola, Corniglia, Vernazza, and Monterosso located on the rocks and mountains along the  Levantine Riviera (Riviera di Levante).  The 18 kilometer (app. 11 miles) stretch of paradise is not only known for its natural beauty, but also for its original Roman architecture, castles and, let's not forget, an extraordinary wine known as "sciacchetrà".

The ancient Roman  port of Vernazza and the origin of the name of the  village of Corniglia ("Cornelia", a Roman tribe) are convincing evidence that the region of the Cinque Terre was inhabited by Romans who later founded the villages known to date.

The most significant landmark is the village of "Monterosso al Mare".  Originally a fortified village, it is especially known today for its splendid beaches.  Monterosso al Mare is home to the historic remains of the castle "Castello dei Fieschi", the bell tower of the church of "San Giovanni Battista" (St. John the Baptist), my name patron, and  the 16th century capuchin monastery, home to significant art treasures attributed to  Van Dick, Piola and Reni.

The road from Riomaggiore to Manarole is also known as the "Promenade of Love.



Monterosso al Mare

Genoa Milan Florence Rome
La Spezia 111 Km 225 Km 165 Km 419 Km